Wet vs Dry vs Fresh Food for Yorkies
General nutrition information compiled from product labels and published sources, not veterinary advice. Your veterinarian is the right person to choose a diet for your dog, especially one with a health condition.
Walk down any pet food aisle and the same question comes up for a 7 pound dog. Should the bowl hold kibble, a can, or a refrigerated roll? The wet vs dry dog food debate is full of marketing, so this page sticks to what labels and published sources actually say.
One note on method. We compared label data and brand product pages. We did not run feeding trials or taste tests, so nothing here says how any dog liked a food. A veterinarian decides what suits an individual dog.
Why the Yorkie's size shapes the choice
The American Kennel Club lists the Yorkshire Terrier in the Toy Group at about 7 pounds, and the breed standard from the Yorkshire Terrier Club of America says a Yorkie must not exceed seven pounds. At that size, a few extra bites matter.
The AKC also notes that some Yorkies are prone to becoming overweight, and advises watching calories and treats. That makes calories per serving the most useful number when you compare forms. The three forms can look very different in the bowl while delivering similar energy.
The Yorkshire Terrier Club of America brochure also says a young puppy should be fed 3 to 4 times a day, moving to two feedings a day as the dog matures. It names hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) as a concern in puppies, especially at 6 to 12 weeks. Any sign of it in a puppy is a call to the veterinarian, not a food-form question.
The comparison at a glance
The table uses one example product per form, taken from the brand's own product page. Different brands will differ, so treat it as an illustration of how the forms behave, not a ranking of brands.
| Attribute | Dry | Wet | Fresh |
|---|---|---|---|
| Example label | Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition Yorkshire Terrier Adult Dry | Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition Yorkshire Terrier Adult Loaf in Sauce | Nom Nom Turkey Fare |
| First ingredient | Brewers rice | Water sufficient for processing | Ground turkey |
| Calories on the label | 336 kcal per cup | 81 kcal per can | 244 kcal per cup |
| Protein (min) | 25.5% | 7.0% | 9% |
| Fat (min) | 16.0% | 4.5% | 4% |
| Fiber (max) | 5.3% | 2.5% | 4% (listed as dietary fiber) |
| Brand's starting portion for a small dog | 1/2 cup (41 g) a day for a 4.4 lb, low-activity dog | 1 3/4 cans (156 g) a day for the same dog | Calculated per dog from details the owner provides |
| Storage | Pantry, sealed | Pantry until opened | Freezer or refrigerator; up to 5 days in the fridge once defrosted |
| Cost per day | Usually the lowest of the three | Usually higher | Usually the highest |
The cost row is a general pattern, not a price. We have no prices to quote, and they change by brand, bag size and store, so check the brand or retailer for current numbers.
Moisture: why the percentages do not line up
The first ingredient on the Royal Canin loaf is water. Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ Senior Vitality Small & Mini Chicken & Vegetable Stew lists chicken broth first. The Hill's Single Protein Chicken & Brown Rice fresh roll has water third. Dry kibble has little water, so its protein looks far larger on paper.
That is why 25.5% protein on the dry food and 7.0% on the loaf do not mean the dry food has more protein in a meaningful sense. The numbers sit on different moisture bases. To compare fairly you would convert both to dry matter, which the brand pages mostly do not do for you.
Hill's does publish dry-matter averages for its products. They run from 22.2% protein for the 7+ stew to 28.6% for the fresh roll. Hill's pages show these averages instead of a guaranteed analysis, so they are not guaranteed minimums, and they should not be set against another brand's label minimums.
Calories per serving
Here the forms behave very differently. Using Royal Canin's own feeding table for a 4.4 pound, low-activity dog, the dry adult food calls for half a cup (41 g). At 336 kcal per cup, that works out to roughly 168 kcal. The loaf calls for 1 3/4 cans, and at 81 kcal per can that is roughly 142 kcal.
So the wet portion looks much bigger in the bowl for slightly fewer calories. For a dog that likes volume, that can be a plus. For an owner measuring by eye, it can also lead to overfeeding, because a can feels like a small amount.
Hill's gives similar cues for a 5 pound adult. The Small & Mini dry adult food is listed at 357 kcal per cup with a 5/8 cup guide. The 7+ stew is 126 kcal per 5.5 oz can, with a guide of 1 1/2 cans. The Hill's fresh roll page does not state calories per cup, and its guide for a 5 pound dog is 4 oz a day. Brand tables are starting points, and a dog's activity, age and body condition move the real amount.
Nom Nom lists 244 kcal per cup for Turkey Fare. It portions meals per dog from the information the owner provides, so check its current portion for your own dog.
Dry food
Pros
- Calorie-dense, so a small measured amount covers a day for a 7 pound dog.
- Easy to store and measure, with no refrigeration.
- Usually the lowest cost per day of the three forms.
- Some labels are made for the breed. Royal Canin says the kibble in its Yorkshire Terrier formula is adapted in shape, size and texture to the breed, though it gives no measurement. Hill's Small & Mini adult food is described as being for dogs who prefer smaller kibble.
Cons
- Because it is dense, a little extra goes a long way. A scoop that is a bit heavy adds up on a toy dog.
- Low moisture, so water has to come from the bowl.
- Kibble size is rarely given in millimeters, so you may need to see it for yourself.
Wet food for Yorkies
Pros
- High moisture. The Royal Canin loaf and the Hill's stew both start with water or broth.
- Soft texture. This can matter for older dogs or any dog that finds hard food awkward, a point to raise with the veterinarian.
- Lower calories per gram than dry food, so the portion is more generous for the energy it carries.
- Breed and age-targeted options exist. Royal Canin makes a Yorkshire Terrier loaf for dogs 10 months and older, and Hill's makes a Small & Mini stew for dogs 7 and older.
Cons
- Higher cost per day in general, since much of the weight is water.
- Opened cans need refrigeration, and some of the can may be wasted when daily needs are small. Royal Canin's page does not state a can size, so check the label.
- The numbers on the label look low because of the water. Read them with that in mind.
Fresh food for Yorkies
Fresh dog food for Yorkies covers a few different products. Nom Nom ships meals frozen or cold, with portions set for each dog. Hill's sells a refrigerated roll that must be kept below 40°F (4°C) and not frozen.
Pros
- Whole-food ingredient lists. Nom Nom Turkey Fare starts with ground turkey, brown rice, egg, carrots and spinach.
- Portioned per dog on the Nom Nom side, which helps with calorie control for a breed prone to weight gain.
- Labeled complete and balanced. Nom Nom Turkey Fare is formulated to the AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages, and the Hill's roll to the adult maintenance profile.
Cons
- Usually the highest cost per day.
- Needs freezer or fridge space, and handling rules matter. Nom Nom says defrosted meals keep up to 5 days in the fridge.
- The Hill's roll and Nom Nom are not Yorkie-specific, so the size and breed fit is on you to judge.
Dental myths
Two claims travel with this topic: that crunchy kibble cleans teeth, and that wet food ruins them. The sources we relied on do not settle either claim, and brand pages that make dental promises are marketing we left out.
What the Western College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan does report is that small dogs are much more likely than larger dogs to get periodontal disease. It was speaking about small dogs in general and did not name the Yorkie. The takeaway is to ask your veterinarian about teeth rather than trusting any bag or can to handle them.
Mixing forms
Mixing is common: a spoonful of wet food over kibble, or a fresh meal alternating with dry. Each product here carries its own complete-and-balanced statement, so topping a complete food with another complete food is not a nutrition problem by itself.
The real risk is calories. If the dry portion stays the same and a topper is added, the day's total goes up. On a breed the AKC says can gain weight, cut the base portion to make room, using the calorie figures on the labels. Also change foods gradually and ask your veterinarian how, rather than switching in one meal. A treat or table scrap counts too. Merck Veterinary Manual notes that dietary indiscretion is believed to be a common risk factor for pancreatitis in dogs, and also reports an increased prevalence of pancreatitis in Yorkshire Terriers.
Best for: use cases
- Everyday adult feeding on a budget: dry. It is the most economical and the easiest to measure.
- Puppies: a puppy-labeled food in the form your veterinarian is comfortable with. Royal Canin's Yorkshire Terrier Puppy dry food is labeled for 8 weeks to 10 months, and Hill's Puppy Small & Mini for up to 1 year. Both ages come from the brands, not a club or veterinary school, so confirm timing with your veterinarian.
- Seniors: wet or soft options may suit, such as the Hill's 7+ stew. Switching age groups is a veterinary conversation.
- Owners who want portion control and whole-food ingredient lists: fresh, if the cost and cold storage fit.
- Dogs with a diagnosed condition: the form matters less than what your veterinarian prescribes. The Yorkshire Terrier Club of America and Merck name liver shunts and protein-losing enteropathy in the breed. No food form on this page prevents or treats any of them.
The verdict
No single form wins for every Yorkie. For a healthy adult, a complete dry food sized for small dogs is the most practical default, because it is compact, measurable and the least costly per day. Wet food earns its place as a topper or a main meal when texture or moisture matters. Fresh food is a reasonable choice if the budget and freezer space allow and portions stay disciplined.
Whichever you pick, read the AAFCO statement, count the calories, and use the brand's feeding guide as a starting point. Adjust with your veterinarian based on how your dog looks and moves. For product-by-product details, see our label-by-label comparison of Yorkie foods.
Sources
- American Kennel Club, Yorkshire Terrier breed page
- Yorkshire Terrier Club of America, "Your Yorkshire Terrier" brochure
- Yorkshire Terrier Club of America, About Yorkies
- Royal Canin US, Yorkshire Terrier Adult Dry Dog Food
- Royal Canin US, Yorkshire Terrier Puppy Dry Dog Food
- Royal Canin US, Yorkshire Terrier Adult Loaf in Sauce
- Hill's Pet Nutrition, Science Diet Adult Small & Mini Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe
- Hill's Pet Nutrition, Science Diet Adult 7+ Senior Vitality Chicken & Vegetable Stew
- Hill's Pet Nutrition, Science Diet Adult Single Protein Chicken & Brown Rice Fresh Dog Food Roll
- Nom Nom, Turkey Fare
- WCVM Today, University of Saskatchewan, periodontal disease
- Merck Veterinary Manual, Pancreatitis in Dogs and Cats